A Busy Week on the Web: Highlights from My Reader

September 11, 2009 at 8:28 am

Perhaps in an effort to make up for my lack of posts this week (I made meatloaf and it lasted us several meals), a somewhat longer than usual list of highlights from my Reader.  Seems like there was a lot of interesting stuff on the web this week.  If these aren’t enough, remember you can always check out “What I’m Reading” on my right side bar.

Highlights for September 5-11

Michael Pollan’s “Big Food vs. Big Insurance” in the NY Times connects health care and food.  “… Three-quarters of health care spending now goes to treat “preventable chronic diseases.”…We’re spending $147 billion to treat obesity, $116 billion to treat diabetes, and hundreds of billions more to treat cardiovascular disease…”  Crazy.

This piece in The Atlantic about the cost of year-round tomatoes and the people that harvest them gave me a lot to think about. In the past I’ve consumed a lot of winter tomatoes.  However, Gourmet just published a piece reporting that things are improving a bit for the migrant tomato workers because of the implementation of a “Fair Food” program and the burrito chain Chipotle agreed to buy its tomatoes from the growers involved in the program.

Also from The Atlantic, some fasinating things about Ghandi, food and vegetarianism (and a little about Obama too).  Ghadni has always been one of those people I’ve been really intrigued by, I may have to actually start learning more about him.

Yay for frugality! Another great post from The Simple Dollar featuring 12 Clever Substitutions That Save Money (Nearly) Effortlessly.  I may have to try some of these out, especially the drain, oven and carpet cleaners.

Both Epicurious and Serious Eats mentioned this Cheese or Font game.  Apparently its pretty addictive and wicked hard.

I got a 58% on Planet Green’s Who Owns Your Food quiz.  Can you do better?

Alex and Brandon of A Food Coma have started a new site called Wadjeet, as in “what did you eat?”.  It’s “a new social site tailored to all of us who whip out our cameras as soon as the food hits the table” and features some pretty delicious looking meals.  Take a look and leave some comments.

Entry filed under: links. Tags: , .

5 Things I Learned at the Garlic Festival Step by Step: Tortellini, Tomato and Spinach Soup


Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

