Time Magazine, DWTS, and Scientific Research: Highlights from My Reader

August 21, 2009 at 9:18 am

It’s Friday, time for this week’s most interesting articles from my Google Reader.  Remember, there’s always more to read from “What I’m Reading” on the right sidebar of the blog.

Highlights for August 15-21

Time Magazine’s cover story this week is a really quality article by Bryan Walsh titled “Getting Real About the High Price of Cheap Food”. I’m always thrilled to see mainstream media sources reporting on what I know to be true.  Definitely an article worth passing on.  Grist has some good commentary on the piece as well.

On a lighter note, the folks at The Internet Food Association have a lot to say about candy.  A very amusing post about m&ms, artificial flavoring and advertising.

I have never watched Dancing with the Stars.  I planned to keep it that way.  But Mark Decascos, the Chairman on Iron Chef America, is going to be on this season so I may have to change my viewing habits.

My food blogging friend Alex (who as you may recall is partly to blame for this blog) was interviewed by Epicurious!  I’m super jealous, but she’s clearly better spoken than I am.

Scientists have been hard at work testing the effects of food on us: Via Serious Eats, “Scientists Say Popcorn is Good for You” and via mental_floss, “Caffeine Reverses Memory Impairment (in Alzheimer’s mice, at least)“.

Entry filed under: links, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

This made me smile You Should Play Free Rice


Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

