What’s Your Cooking Personality?

March 17, 2009 at 8:02 pm 1 comment

The New York Times ran an interesting article today titled “Who’s Cooking? (For Health, it Matters).” It caused me to think about how my goals and style influence my cooking.

The article has a companion quiz, “What’s Your Cooking Personality,” which I had to take, because I’m a sucker for those sorts of things.  According to the article, people are either giving, methodical, healthy, competitive or innovative cooks.  My answers were kind of all over the place.  Even though I’d like to assume I’m a “healthy” cook, the majority of my responses put me in the categories of “giving” and “methodical”:

a) Giving: Friendly, well-liked and enthusiastic, giving cooks seldom experiment, love baking and like to serve tried-and-true family favorites, although that sometimes means serving less healthful foods.
b) Methodical:
Talented cooks who rely heavily on recipes. The methodical cook has refined tastes and manners. Their creations always look exactly like the picture in the cookbook.

The article itself notes:

“A lot of giving cooks believe they are healthy cooks, but they are by far the least healthy,” he added. On the other hand, “if you like food, then the healthy cook is not necessarily the person you want to hang out with.”

Not surprising, really.  So, now I’m thinking about whether or not the food I’ve been cooking is actually healthy.  And I do plan to actually cook something soon and share it with you all.

So what’s your cooking personality?  Are you as healthy as you think you are?

Entry filed under: food, internet. Tags: , .

I’m a winner! I Miss Taylor’s Pork Roll

1 Comment

  • 1. meridithl  |  March 17, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Thanks for directing me to this NYTimes article. I hadn’t seen it, and I can’t wait to take the quiz!


Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

