Miracles Do Happen

February 1, 2009 at 3:31 pm

You may recall a post from December wherein I discussed my family’s eating habits and mentioned: “We don’t eat beans.  Period.  Dad thinks we’re nuts for including cannoli and garbanzo beans [in a soup my Man and I made].”  Well, after all my whiny posts and my decision to cook what I wanted to eat for lunch irregardless of what my parents thought, I made something with beans in it that my dad actually liked.

A lot of my interest in cooking different, good, healthy food stems from time I’ve spent with my Man and his parents.  One of the first times I visited with them, his mother made this delicious soup.  It was the first of many recipes she’s given me.  After a quick internet search, it appears the recipe is from Cooking Light, though it tastes anything but light.

“Carol’s” Tarascan Soup

You’ll need:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oilingredients
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 4 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans pinto beans, undrained
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (16-ounce) can chicken broth (can substitute fat-free, less sodium)
  • Shredded Monterey Jack cheese (about 1 cup; can substitute reduced fat)
  • Tortilla chips, crushed (about 1 cup)

1.  Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add onions and garlic, cook for 3 minutes.*  Add canned tomatoes with their liquid, stir, cook 5 minutes.

2. Put beans and their liquid into a food processor (or blender) and process until smooth.

soup3. Add the beans, chili powder, cumin, hot sauce, salt and broth to the pan.  Stir and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and cook for 18 more minutes, uncovered.

4. Serve with shredded cheese and crushed chips.  Serves about 8.

tarascan

*My apologies to anyone who doesn’t like onions and garlic as much as I do and is weary of the fact that the majority of my recipes appear to start with a step identical to this one.

Entry filed under: food. Tags: , , , , .

Check out what these other blogs are talking about… Why I Love My Students


Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

