Will Work for Food: Lobstering and Beekeeping

January 19, 2009 at 9:14 pm

I’ve been pretty excited for Adam Gertler’s “Will Work for Food” since the rumors about an Adam Gertler show started last year.  Though he probably wasn’t the best cook, he was my choice to win “Next Food Network Star”.  I loved his personality and I’m thrilled that they decided to give him a show despite his losing.

The episode didn’t disappoint me.  I thought it was pretty educational, but Adam’s personality definitely showed through, even if he did seem to be playing dumb sometimes.  I don’t think Adam’s as clueless as he was acting, but it added to the entertainment value for me, like watching a kid.  I personally found lobstering a nice choice to start, even though I didn’t learn anything new…not my fault I live in community where many residents are lobstermen.  They certainly explained it better than I’ve seen done on other shows.  Beekeeping by people who have never done it before is always entertaining to watch, but it made me start to wonder why Food Network chose those two jobs to start.  Seems to me there are more unique jobs which haven’t been showcased on “how do they make this?” type shows before (“Dirty Jobs,” “How It’s Made,” “How’d That Get On My Plate,” etc)?  I’ll be tuning back in because I love Adam Gertler, but I wonder if a bigger impact could have been made with different jobs initially.

Entry filed under: food, television. Tags: .

Another reason to love Tom Colicchio (like we needed any) Sunday’s Dinner: Potato, Spinach and Artichoke Soup


Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

