Ultimate Recipe Showdown: Comfort Food

January 4, 2009 at 10:27 pm 6 comments

Tonight was the first episode of this season of Food Network’s Ultimate Recipe Showdown.  The theme was Comfort Food.

I felt strongly about the contestants from the get go.  Rick Massa’s  Cheese Lovers 5 Cheese Mac and Cheese sounded great, despite the judges’ concern that the blue cheese might be overpowering.  I thought blue cheese sounded yummy.  At any rate, he won round one and my sister wants the recipe.   His grilled cheese and tomato soup won the episode for him.  He deserved it.

On the other end of contestant spectrum was twenty-three year old Emily Hobbs.  Though I’m excited by the concept of a young contestant trying to save money for culinary school, I was quickly perplexed by where Food Network found her.  She seemed pretty unsure of herself (although she cooked decently) but it was her statements that really impressed me.  She was nervous because judge Michael Psilakis “is really hot” and she’s apparently scared of Guy Fieri’s hair (side note: there is no T in Fieri…why does he call himself Guy Fieti?  Makes me crazy) .  At any rate, she didn’t win.

Next week’s contest: Burgers.

I’m really excited about some other shows that are starting soon:
January  13    10pm     Chopped
January 15     10pm    Ace of Cakes
January 19    8:30pm  Will Work For Food (with Adam Gertler, who was my pick to win last season’s Food Network Star)

I’ll be tuning in and you can check here for my thoughts.

Entry filed under: food. Tags: , .

Not-so-super markets Chopped

6 Comments

  • 1. Ben Barker  |  January 8, 2009 at 1:50 am

    What is the purpose of a blog?
    Is it simply to give an over generalized recount of events on a given television show?
    Is it to blandly corroborate a bland opinion?
    One thing is for sure, Em, you certainly display your ignorance and American isolation.
    Fieri is an Italian name and Italians flip their Rs.
    Git atta yer house once in a while!

    • 2. Em  |  January 8, 2009 at 7:40 pm

      Thanks for your comment. I’m not sure if you’re referring to this post or the blog in general, but I hope to continue to improve the quality as time goes on–I’ve only been blogging for two weeks and I’m learning more about food, what I’m doing and what I want to share with the world with each passing day. I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy it and that I came across as ignorant and isolated, I’ll certainly try to dispel that in the future! Thanks for the clarification on Fieri, I’m sure I wasn’t the only one who was interested in the explanation (not too many Italians in mid-coast Maine). If the snow ever clears I’ll be sure to get out more :)

  • 3. andrea  |  January 12, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    I just had to say that the ultimate showdown comfort food was phenomenal and aside from the fabulous recipes diplayed I think, the one thing that really stood out was the commentary from the judges, was particulary Michael Psilakis who was pleasant and insightful and had many positive comments about the food. In most competition type show the judges just shred the competitors, picking at the most minute details until the poor chef’s are only left with a thread of confidence left, feeling like imbeciles in front of national TV. I hate to see anyone reduced to a ball of jello after enduring a highly intense competitiion. So I say, cudos! to you Micheal for giving positive feedback, besides when do amatuer chefs have chance to be critiqued by someone of your reputation? Sorry Guy your hair could not overcome Micheal’s great personality. Oh and by the way I’m glad FN found a way to utilize you since Bobby Flay is always the Iron Chef everyone challenges on that show. Here’s to many more Ultimate Food Challenges!

  • 4. Randomx6  |  January 17, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I also like the judges but my favorite is the Food Network Director, Katherine Alford. She is so personable and precise in her critiques. She is always on point and offers helpful critiques and suggestions. But I like all 3 of them. The panel is much stronger than last years group of judges.

  • 5. Lunchtime Revelation « relishments.  |  January 26, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    […] and “give an over generalized recount of events on a given television show,” as one commenter phrased it?  It’s clear  from my stat reports that is what gets my visitor count up.  Only […]

  • 6. Kirtia Arthur  |  February 11, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Michael Psilakis is beau…ti..ful!!! He is soooooo cool and right on. Is anyone else mixing him up with Michael Symon?? I was lost for about a week after the show, thinking it was Michael Symon really….I even wrote to Michael Symon staff and joined his fan club on facebook… and tried googleing Chef Michael Salakis without the “p” in front of Salakis and found no leads until this blog! Do i need an intervention or what?


Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

