A Vacation in Food

December 31, 2008 at 6:27 pm

Being on break from school, having no obligations and having my Man here to encourage me, this week was an excellent exercise in finally getting off the couch and into the kitchen.

vegetable soup

On Monday, we made a vegetable soup modified from this recipe from Food Network.    I thought the vegetables sounded a little thin so we added carrots.  When served, it greatly benefited (as almost everything does) from some grated Parmesan cheese (aka “shaky cheese”).   Soup was a great place to restart my interest in cooking; even I can make soup.  It’s versatile, its easy, its quick.  I really no longer have a reason to complain about what I bring to school for lunch.

And it’s so much better than soup from a can.

guacamoleSufficiently bitten by the “cooking” bug, my Man and I went on to make guacamole today.  Avocados are another ingredient which is never considered in my house.  Even though I’m pretty such December isn’t prime time for them we managed to find a decently ripe set and worked off this recipe from the California Avocado Commission (!).  First of all, the site is genius because it calculates ingredient amounts based on the number of servings desired for you!  All recipe sites should do that.  Secondly, we left out the cumin and the hot sauce and it’s quite tasty.

Fresh food makes me happy.

Entry filed under: food. Tags: , , .

Top 5 Food Experiences, thus far Not-so-super markets


Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

