Recipe Rundown

September 22, 2009 at 12:23 pm 3 comments

Somehow, despite the fact that I’m still not working, life got kinda crazy last week.  Also, I’m sometimes a really lazy blogger.  I could write a whole post about that.  But I won’t.

Even when I’m not posting, I am cooking.  Here’s a brief look at what went down in my kitchen last week.

Snickerdoodles

I never used to be a big fan of baking.  Yes, I frequently made cookies and brownies and such, often from a mix, for my debate team kids, but I was often unhappy with the way they turned out.  Suddenly I’m very into baking, which is fun but less than helpful when I really should be focusing on dinner.  It would’ve been all okay last week if Smitten Kitchen hadn’t posted an incredibly tempting recipe for snickerdoodles.  They looked too good.  I had to make them.  I’ve never even made snickerdoodles before…but I had to make these.  (Poor Brian…he has to come home after work to hear my ramblings about why I *had* to make cookies…not that he’s complaining)

snickerdoodles

They were “totally awesome” (if you’re my sister, you’ll get that. Otherwise, I’m sorry).  I would make more this week, but I have other plans for my oven.  Highly, highly recommended.

Spicy Bean and Cheese Burritos

Another Rachael Ray recipe, I made some substitutions to her Spicy Bean and Cheese Burritos.  I subbed vegetable broth for beer, because I’m too cheap to go buy beer just for one recipe.  I also used canned chopped chilies instead of pickled jalapeños.  The resulting burrito filling was this:

burrito filling

Definitely not bad, though not very spicy.  We put the filling and cheese into whole wheat tortillas and attempted cooking them on my George Foreman grill.

burritos

Final analysis: The burritos were fine, though would’ve benefited from a bit more spice and crunchier tortillas.  The lack of crunch was probably my fault and next time I’ll try cooking them in a skillet.  However, Brian and I were fans of the whole wheat tortillas, which we’d never had before, so those will definitely reappear on a future shopping list.

This week, be prepared for recipes that involve baking and apples.  Brian and I went apple picking on Saturday :)

Entry filed under: recipe review, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Organize, Give, Reduce and more: Highlights from My Reader Slowly Overcoming Recipe Dependence

3 Comments

  • 1. Holly  |  September 22, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    snickerdoodles are one of my serious faves. these look absolutely perfect!

  • 2. Ryn  |  September 22, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Nice HP reference :-)

  • 3. FB @ FabulouslyBroke.com  |  September 24, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Aren’t snickerdoodles just cookies? *puzzled*

    But they look amazing……. mmmmmmmmmmmm

    Thank you for coming by the blog and commenting. I really hope you find your blogging mojo! :)


Recent Posts

Fight World Hunger

Check out my tweets!

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

